Angelique Kidjo Dedicates New Album ‘Eve’ to the Power of African Womanhood

1391826_10152005667920820_1011030481_n-1Benin-born, Grammy Award winning singer /songwriter Angelique Kidjo, is set to release her new Album ‘Eve’ in January next year. ‘Eve’ named after Kidjo’s mother, is a new collection of tracks dedicated to African Women. The album features collaborations from the Kronos Quartet and the Orchestra Philharmonique du Luxumbourg. Kidjo mentions “I’ve spoken for many years about the beauty of African women, and I don’t need to talk anymore about it because on this recording I am letting the voices of the women show their beauty to the world,” she adds. “Eve” is all about showcasing the positivity they bring to their villages, cities, culture and the world.” Eve track listing:

  1. • M’Baamba (Kenyan Song)
  2. • Shango Wa
  3. • Eva (featuring ASA)
  4. • Interlude: Agbade
  5. • Bomba (featuring Rostam Batmanglij)
  6. • Hello (featuring Trio Teriba)
  7. • Blewu
  8. • Kamoushou
  9. • Kulumbu (featuring Dr. John)
  10. • Interlude: Kletedjan
  11. • Ebile (featuring Kronos Quartet)
  12. • Awalole (featuring the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg)
  13. • Bana (featuring Yvonne Kidjo)
  14. • Orisha
  15. • Interlude: Wayi
  16. • Coari

The album is produced by 429 Records and is due to be released on January 28, 2014. In the meantime, its available to pre-order at Amazon via this link.


Leave a Comment