‘The Last Fishing Boat’ Wins at Silicon Valley African Film Festival #Malawi

Oct 17, 2013 • Articles, MalawiNo Comments

TLFB_PosterMalawian movie ‘The Last Fishing Boat’, took home an award for Best Narrative at the Silicon Valley African Film Festival in California last week.

The film that was written and produced by Shemu Joyah, tells the story  of the a fisherman whose livlihood is being transformed by the tourism industry. It shows the dynamics between the traditional way of life and contemporary life.

‘The Last Fishing Boat’ won an award for Best Soundtrack at the Africa Movie Academy Awards earlier this year, making this their second award.


Other Award winners included Nigerian Director and producer Newton Aduaka who was Reel Award Winner and Rwandan director Gilbert Ndahayo for his movie Rwandan Night. He received the documentary short film award. .View full list below:

2013 SVAFF Africa Reel Award Winner:

Newton Aduaka (Nigeria)

2013 Emerging Filmmaker Award:
Director: Chimwemwe Mkwezalamba (Malawi)
(The Designer)

2013 Emerging Filmmaker Award:
Director: Sephora Woldu (Eritrea)

Narrative Feature Film Award:
Director: Shemu Joyah (Malawi)
The Last Fishing Boat

Narrative Short Film Award:
Director: Tim Huebschle (Namibia)
Dead River

Documentary Feature Film Award:
Director: Gilbert Ndahayo (Rwanda)
Rwandan Night

Documentary Short Film Award:
Director: Kurt Orderson (South Africa)
On the Trail of my Father – the story of Lucky Dube

Special Recognition Awards:

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Otunba Dr. Sola Fosudo

Achievement in Narrative Feature Film:
Director: Jackson Kabirigi (Tanzania)

Achievement in Narrative Short Film:
Zelalem Woldermariam (Ethiopia)

Achievement in Documentary Film:
Director: Stanford Gibson (South Africa)
Beauty Beyond Color

Source: https://www.facebook.com/svafilmfest
Share Button
See Also:

Related Posts

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

« »