New Album Review: Offiong Bassey

Jun 25, 2013 • MusicNo Comments

554606_573286366022769_1334839014_nFirst generation Nigerian-American Offiong Bassey blends Afro-Beats, soul and jazz to bring us her self -titled debut album.

Produced by Ivorian producer Blethy Emmanuel Tiegnon, the album is truly a reflection of how versatile and unique Ms Bassey’s musical style is. The various styles of music that she has grown up listening to is apparent when you listen to each track. She fuses traditional African beats with Western melodies effortlessly and makes them sound current.

The album is very diverse and there is definitely something for everyone. Ms Bassey shows off her rapping skills in ‘Mistaking Chivalry For Chauvinism’, sings and raps over an afro-beat in ‘Conclusion’ and sings in her native tongue Efik on her more traditional track ‘Owo iba me ita”.

She lists Angelique Kidjo, Miriam Makeba, and Fela Kuti, Rachelle Ferrell, Lauryn Hill, and Jonathan Butler as her sources of inspiration.

Check out the track list below:

Track List

  • Legitimate Child
  • Edidem
  • Weatherman
  • Full Moon
  • Mistaking Chivalry For Chauvinism
  • Conclusion
  • Chasing After the Wind
  • Owo Iba Me Ita
  • Wild Oats
  • It Might Be Hard
  • Efik Praise Medley
  • Edidem (Traditional Mix)

The album is available on iTunes. To learn more about Ms Bassey, visit:

Share Button
See Also:

Related Posts

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

« »